Stick ‘n’ Pokes – A Shit Idea

I really like stick and poke tattoos, so I don’t actually have an issue with them personally. I have two of them myself. But lets be real, they’re a pretty retarded thing to do.

I’m not referring to ‘hand poked’ tattoos, which are done by a professional or someone who actually has some kind of idea what the hell they’re doing. Stick and pokes on the other hand are normally done by someone without proper equipment, in less than hygienic settings (obviously not all the time).

8f567bed0459d1b8ba516508bf312100.png

(Above picture from @european.son.420 on instagram)

I probably fall into the latter since I have no fucking idea what I’m doing, but I do use sterile tattoo needles and ink which I guess is always a plus.

Anywho, I think the reason stick and pokes are amazing is exactly the same reason why they’re a really stupid idea. Anyone can do a stick and poke if they want to, you can do them with stuff you probably have lying around the house. This also means drunk people and younger kids can do them with absolutely nothing sterile. This is what gives them such a bad rep, when some 14 year old has given themselves a heart tattoo on their wrist with Bic biro ink. No shit, thats not a good idea.

a0dcba1c415c4d62a6714f9dbb8d5be0

(Above picture from reddit/stick and pokes)

Also a lot of the time they turn out pretty crappy, even with proper needles mine turned out with the odd wonky line and misplaced dot. Do I regret them? No, but I enjoy the process of the tattoo itself more than whatever the outcome is.

tl:dr – I probably wouldn’t advise giving yourself a tattoo.

Leave a Reply

